The John C Marsden Medal

£1000 and a medal awarded for the best doctoral thesis in biology.

Dr John C Marsden was the Executive Secretary of the Society from 1989 to 2004 and was elected as a Fellow honoris causa in 2005 in recognition of his services to the Society. The medal is awarded annually in Dr John C Marsden's memory for the best doctoral thesis in biology. It is open to any candidate whose research has been carried out whilst registered at any UK institution. Theses on the full range of biology are eligible. Nominations are received from the Head of Department or the supervisor of the candidate.

Eligibility Criteria:


Download here

  • Open to PhD candidates whose doctorate has been awarded during the previous eighteen months (from closing date of nomination).
  • PhD candidate can be any nationality, but research to have been carried out whilst registered at a UK institution
  • The thesis must be of outstanding quality and be on any aspect of biology
  • Nominations to be made by the Head of Department or supervisor of the candidate
  • Up to two candidates may be nominated per department
  • Nominee cannot, at the time of nomination, be a member of Council
  • Nominee does not need to be a Fellow of the Society
  • We do not accept self-nominations

Evaluation criteria will include (scores in parentheses):

  1. Writing and organisation (0-10)
  2. Presentation (format, illustrations) (0-10)
  3. Intrinsic interest of question (0-20)
  4. Contextualization of problem (0-10)
  5. Quantity of data collected (0-10)
  6. Quality of data collected (0-10)
  7. Data analysis (0-20)
  8. Discussion depth and breadth (0-10)
  9. Published papers (0-10)

Nominations should be submitted by completing the downloadable form and sending to by 30 November.

Recipients of the John C Marsden Medal

The medal was awarded for the first time in 2012.

  • Sarah Hill (2019)
  • Thais Nogales da Costa Vasconcelos (2018)
  • Kwaku Aduse-Poku (2017)
  • Thomas Halliday (2016)
  • not awarded (2015)
  • Orly Razgour (2014)
  • Haris Saslis Lagoudakis (2013)
  • Joshua Coulcher (2012)
Dr Sarah Hill, Medal winner 2019
Dr Sarah Hill, Medal winner 2019
Thais Nogales De Costa Vasconcelos
Thais Nogales De Costa Vasconcelos, Medal Winner 2018