The Linnean Tercentenary Medal

Presented in 2007 on the occasion of the Tercentenary of the birth of Carl Linnaeus.

In celebration of Linnaeus' Tercentenary, the Society recognised the continuing importance of the communication of natural history, and biological sciences, to raise both professional and public awareness in our understanding of the natural world, its wonders and the threats facing it.

Specially commissioned to commemorate the 300th anniversary, the Linnean Tercentenary Silver Medals were presented on 13 December 2007 by HRH The Princess Royal to three world-class biologists:

  • Sir David Attenborough CBE, Hon FLS, FRS
  • Professor Steve Jones FLS
  • Professor Edward O. Wilson FMLS, ForMemRS

The Linnean Tercentenary Bronze Medals were presented by the President, Professor David Cutler, to seven Fellows of the Society on 2 May 2008 in recognition of significant help provided to the Society during the 2007 Tercentenary.

  • Ms Gina Douglas FLS
  • Dr Jenny Edmonds FLS
  • Professor Carl-Olof Jacobsen FLS
  • Professor Bengt Jonsell FLS
  • Dr Martyn Rix FLS
  • Mr Nigel Rowland FLS
  • Ms Elaine Shaughnessy FLS