25th May 2017: Medal Winners 2017

2017 Linnean Society Medal Winners Announced

Published on 26th May 2017

Medal Winners 2017
From left to right: David Rollinson, Tim Douthit, Sonia Rowley, John Walters, Lynn Dicks, Steven Dodsworth, John Thompson, Paul Brakefield, Claire Spottiswoode, Johannes Girstmair, Kwaku Aduse-Poku, Charlie Jarvis and David John © The Linnean Society of London

At our Anniversary Meeting on Wednesday 24th May 2017, Professor Paul Brakefield—President of the Linnean Society of London— presented our Medals and Prizes to celebrate the achievements of academics across the natural sciences. Below is a list of the medal and award winners.

Charlie Jarvis received the Linnean Medal (Botany) to a biologist for service to science.

Charlie Jarvis

David Rollinson received the Linnean Medal (Zoology) to a biologist for service to science.

David Rollinson

John Thompson received the Darwin-Wallace Medal to persons who have made major advances in evolutionary biology.

John Thompson

Claire Spottiswoode received the Bicentenary Medal to a biologist under the age of 40 years in recognition of excellent work.

Claire Spottiswoode

Johannes Girstmair received the Trail-Crisp Medal in recognition of an outstanding contribution to biological microscopy that has been published in the UK.

​Johannes Girstmair

Steven Dodsworth received the Irene Manton Prize to a PhD student for the best botany thesis in an academic year.

Steven Dodsworth

Kwaku Aduse-Poku was awarded the John C Marsden Medal for the best doctoral thesis in biology.

​Kwaku Aduse-Poku

John Walters received the H H Bloomer Award awarded to an amateur naturalist for an important contribution to biological knowledge.

John Walters

Lynn Dicks received the John Spedan Lewis Medal awarded to an individual who is making a significant and innovative contribution to conservation.

Lynn Dicks

Karin Douthit and David Williamson received the Jill Smythies Award to a botanical artist for outstanding illustrations.

Tim Douthit on behalf of Karin Douthit
Tim Douthit received the award on Karin Douthit's behalf
David John on behalf of David Williamson
David John received the award on David Williamson's behalf

Sonia Rowley received the Sir David Attenborough Award for Fieldwork from the Systematics Association and the Linnean Society of London.

Sonia Rowley

The Linnean Society seeks to encourage excellence in the natural sciences by awarding a series of medals and prizes to scientists and artists for outstanding work in their fields. Nominations for 2018 are now open and will close on 30th November 2017.