Medal Winners 2019

Published on 29th May 2019

Medal Winners
Medal Winners from Left to Right: Prof Samuel Turvey, Dr Sarah Hill, Dr Goronwy Wynne, Dr Steve Portugal, Dr Leanne Melbourne, Deborah Lambkin and Dr John Burton

At our Anniversary Meeting on Friday 24th May 2019, Professor Paul Henderson—Vice President of the Linnean Society of London— presented our Medals and Prizes to celebrate the achievements of academics across the natural sciences.

Below is a list of the medal and award winners.

Samuel Turvey received the Linnean Medal (Zoology) awarded to a biologist for their service to science.

Samuel Turvey

Steve Portugal received the Bicentenary Medal awarded to a biologist under the age of 40 years in recognition of excellent work.

Steve Portugal

Leanne Melbourne FLS received the Irene Manton Prize. This prize is awarded to a PhD student for the best botany thesis in an academic year.

Leanne Melbourne

Sarah Hill was awarded the John C Marsden Medal for the best doctoral thesis in biology.

Sarah Hill

Goronwy Wynne FLS received the H H Bloomer Award awarded to an amateur naturalist for an important contribution to biological knowledge.

Goronwy Wynne

John Burton FLS received the John Spedan Lewis Medal awarded to an individual who is making a significant and innovative contribution to conservation.

John Burton

Deborah Lambkin received the Jill Smythies Award awarded to a botanical artist for outstanding illustrations.

Deborah Lambkin

Unfortunately not all our medal winners could attend the ceremony.

  • Vicki Funk was awarded the Linnean Medal (Botany). The Linnean Medal is awarded to a biologist for their service to science
  • Svante Pääbo and David Reich were awarded the Darwin-Wallace Medal, which is to persons who have made major advances in evolutionary biology.
  • Marco Lukic was awarded the David Attenborough Fieldwork award.

The Linnean Society seeks to encourage excellence in the natural sciences by awarding a series of medals and prizes to scientists and artists for outstanding work in their fields. Nominations for 2020 are now open and will close on 30th November 2019.