June 2013: Medal Winners

Published on 3rd June 2013

2013 Linnean Society Medal Winners Announced

2013 Linnean Society Medal Winners

The following Medals were awarded:

Linnean Medal: Kingsley Wayne Dixon

Awarded to a biologist for service to science.

Kingsley Wayne Dixon

Darwin Wallace Medal: Godfrey Matthew Hewitt

Awarded to persons who have made major advances in evolutionary biology.

Darwin Wallace

Irene Manton Prize: Janine Pendleton

Awarded to a PhD student for the best botany thesis in an academic year.

Irene Manton

John C Marsden Medal: Haris Saslis Lagoudakis

Awarded for the best doctoral thesis in biology.

John C Marsden

The Linnean Society seeks to encourage excellence in the natural sciences by awarding a series of medals and prizes to scientists and artists for outstanding work in their fields. Nominations for 2014 are now open and will close on 30th November 2013. Click here to find out more about nominating and individual for a medal or award.