Skip navigation |

Royal Patrons and Honorary Fellows

Patron of the Linnean Society of London

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Honorary Members

Honorary Members are distinguished Personages. The maximum number of Honorary Members is four, plus such members of Royal Families as may express a wish to belong to the Society.

Our Current Honorary Members are:

HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh KG FRS
HRH The Prince of Wales KG FRS
His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden
His Imperial Majesty The Emperor of Japan
HIH The Prince Hitachi of Japan
Baroness Young of Old Scone

His Imperial Majesty The Emperor of Japan is recognized as an ichthyologist

HIH Prince Hitachi of Japan is recognised as a cell biologist who is involved in the comparative histology of human and lower vertebrate tumors. He is additionally Honorary Patron of the Japanese Association for the Protection of Birds.

Baroness Young of Old Scone is a member of the House of Lords and is currently the chief executive of health charity Diabetes UK. She was chief executive of the Environment Agency 2000 – 2008, and previously chair of English Nature, vice chairman of the BBC, chief executive of the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds and of a number of local health authorities.

His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden is passionate about the environment, technology, agriculture, trade, and industry. He is a Patron of Friends of the Swedish Museum of Natural History, the Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry and the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, among others.

Queen Victoria was Patron of the Society (see illuminated page from the Roll and Charter that was signed by her)

Charter, Queen Victoria

The former Emperor of Japan, Hirohito, was an Honorary Member from 1931.

Fellows honoris causa

TheFellows honoris causacategory comprises distinguished biologists. The maximum number is 25. Originally, this honour was restricted to those financially unable to offer themselves as candidates for Fellowship but whose work as naturalists deserved recognition.

Once proposed for election as Fellow honoris causa , the names of candidates must be read at two General Meetings preceding the Anniversary Meeting at which the third reading and election shall take place. Following election, the Fellow honoris causa receives a Diploma in the Latin language over the Common Seal of the Society, and will be entitled without contribution to the full privileges of a Fellow of the Society.

Current Fellows honoris causa include:

  • Sir David F. Attenborough
  • David James Bellamy OBE - author, broadcaster, environmental campaigner and botanist
  • Emeritus Professor John L. Cloudsley-Thompson – desert naturalist
  • Professor Laurence Martin Cook – evolutionary geneticist
  • Ray G C Desmond – author, history of natural history
  • Professor Brian George Gardiner – PLS 1994-97, Editor of The Linnean
  • Professor Vernon Hilton Heywood – conservationist; medicinal and aromatic plants
  • Dr Norman Winfrid Moore – conservationist; dragonflies
  • Professor Clive Anthony Stace - botanist and botanical author
  • Dr Roy L. Taylor – botanist; botanic garden conservation
  • Lord Cranbrook, Gathorne – zoologist
  • Ms Georgina Lundy Douglas – Linnean Society Archivist Emerita
  • Dr Charles E. Jarvis – Linnean Society Curator Plants
  • Professor Lord May of Oxford
  • Sir Jonathan Miller
  • Dr Desmond Morris – zoologist, ethologist

Foreign Members

The number of Foreign Members shall not exceed 50. The rules of election are the same as for Fellows honoris causa.

  • Professor Wilhelm Barthlott - German botanist, head of the Nees-Institute for Biodiversity of Plants and director of the Botanical Gardens of the University of Bonn.
  • Professor Loutfy Boulos – Egyptian botanist; author of Middle Eastern floras
  • Professor Angelika Brandt – German marine biologist (Crustacea); Deputy director of the Zoological Museum Hamburg and the Biozentrum Grindel and head of the department Invertebrates II
  • Professor Kåre Bremer – Swedish systematic botanist; Vice-Chancellor of Stockholm University
  • Professor Angel L. Cabrera – South American botanist
  • Professor John Cairns Jr – US environmental biologist; Department of Biology, and Director Emeritus, University Center for Environmental and Hazardous Materials Studies,Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Professor Luigi Luca Cavalli-Sforza – Italian population geneticist
  • Professor Mee-mann Chang – Chinese palaeontologist, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Professor Friedrich Ehrendorfer – Austrian systematic botanist
  • Dr Nelson Estrada - Colombian potato breeder
  • Professor Claude Philippe Favarger – Swiss evolutionary botanist
  • Professor Else Marie Friis – Swedish palaeobotanist
  • Dr Stanley John Hughes – Canadian mycologist
  • Professor Bengt Edvard Jonsell – Swedish systematic botanist
  • Dr Per Magnus Jorgensen – Norwegian lichenologist
  • Professor Zofia Kielan Jaworowska - Polish paleobiologist
  • Professor Vladimir M .Koltun – Russian marine biologist
  • Professor Niels Peder Kristensen – Danish entomologist; curator, Natural History Museum of Denmark
  • Professor H. Walter Lack – Austrian botanist (taxonomy)
  • Professor Jean Leclercq – Belgian entomologist
  • Professor Jean Leonard – Belgian botanist
  • Dr Charles Duncan Michener- Americanentomologist (bees)
  • Professor Richard L. Miller – American marine scientist
  • Dr Gareth Jon Nelson – American (Hawaii) ichtyologist (teleostean fishes)
  • Professor Eviatar Nevo – Israeli evolutionary biologist
  • Professor Hugh E. H. Paterson – American evolutionary biologist
  • Professor Giorgio Pilleri - Swiss cetacean brain scientist
  • Dr Peter Hamilton Raven - American botanist and environmentalist, director of the Missouri Botanical Garden
  • DrOliver CedricRieppel - Swiss-born American, fossil amphibians and reptiles
  • Dr John P.Rourke – South African botanist, Curator of the Compton Herbarium
  • Professor J .William Schopf – American evolutionary biologist; author
  • Dr Lawrence B Slobodkin - American evolutionary biologist; author
  • Professor Erik Francois Smets – check the Linnean 2005
  • Professor Robert R Sokal – American biostatistician
  • Dr Dennis W Stevenson –American botanist
  • AcademicianArmen L .Takhtajan – Russian botanist
  • Academician Leonid P Tatarinov – Russian palaeobiogeographer
  • Professor Nikolai N. Tzvelev – Russian agrostologist
  • Dr Madeleine Van Campo – French palynologist
  • Professor Edward O. Wilson – American entomologist (ants)
  • Dr Daniel Zohary – Israeli botanist (domestication of plants)
  • Professor Emeritus Helmut Zwolfer – German entomologist